As you may have heard November is National Novel Writing Month (also known as Nanowrimo)! At http://nanowrimo.org/ you can sign up, and track your word count as you tackle the challenge of writing 50,000 words (a novel!) during November. This might sound a bit crazy but you will not be alone, there are regions (http://nanowrimo.org/regions) that have libraries and coffee shops that hosting write-ins where you can gather and write in a group, and forums (http://nanowrimo.org/forums) that have writing tips and prompts. My personal favorite is ‘Nanowrimo Ate My Soul’ which is excellent when you are struggling with the next couple hundred words. Also, all throughout the month of November, I will be attempting Nanowrimo right alongside you, and I will post weekly ‘Word-count Wednesday’ updates.
This week’s word count is 392 words. So clearly I am already a little bit behind (the daily goal is 1,667 words) but never fear this is only the beginning!
Rainbow Rowell started writing Fangirl during Nanowrimo and in her 2013 pep talk (which you can read in its entirety HERE) she wrote:

I kept almost every word I wrote during NaNoWriMo. That 50,000-word pile I made wasn’t a mess at all. It’s some of the bravest writing I’ve ever done…NaNoWriMo helped me push past so many of my doubts and insecurities and bad habits. And I think that’s partly why I love Fangirl so much now—because I remember how swept away I felt when I was writing it.

So let’s not get discouraged! We can write 50,000 words, we just have to start and make a habit of writing every day. Let me know how far into your novel you are, and I will check back in next Wednesday.

