So far my summer has been a slow one for reading but I am currently in the process of reading two books. The two books I’m reading are Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor and The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters is the conclusion to the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. This trilogy follows our main character, Karou, learning about the person she is and how her past will intertwine with her future. Though I haven’t completed it yet, I highly recommend this trilogy if you’re in the mood for a high fantasy novel.

My other current read is a unique story like the one above but it’s nonfiction. The Glass Castle is my summer reading for my high school English class but nonetheless, it’s been fantastic so far. Jeannette wrote this memoir about her childhood with her 3 other siblings and the life they all lived for years. In the beginning of the book, it can be seen that she loved the way that they lived, free without a care but as they grew older she started to become fed up with it. The writing really makes you think about your own life and the people you have in it. I do recommend this book but it’s definitely not for everyone due to the serious mood and some of the events that happen.

-Sophie

