Today I recommend: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang.

When Prince Sebastian confides in his dressmaker friend Frances that he loves to masquerade at night as the fashionable Lady Crystallia, Frances must decide if Sebastian’s secret is worth a lifetime of living in the shadows.

First off the illustrations are lovely and each and every outfit is full of gorgeous details- I want a dress as beautiful as these. Sebastian and Frances are both strong characters, and they grow to accept themselves through this sweet historical fiction graphic novel. The ending feels a little too perfect for the time period that the story is set in but it fits with the sweet and innocent feeling of the whole graphic novel. This is perfect for readers who have started to outgrow Raina Telgemeier, and for those readers who loved Princess, Princess Ever After by Katie O’Neill.

You can find The Prince and the Dressmaker in the Young Adult Graphic Novel section at YA GRAPHIC WANG.

~aw

Advertisements